#### BAY AREA WOMEN AGAINST RAPE (BAWAR)

#### 24-HOUR CRISIS LINE (510) 845-7273

Provides free in-person counseling to survivors of sexual assault and their significant others. BAWAR offers transportation to police stations, courthouses and hospitals. A 24-hour hotline, support groups, and community education are also available.

#### HIGHLAND SEXUAL ASSAULT RESPONSE TEAM

CAN BE REACHED 24-HOURS A DAY (510) 534-9290 or (510) 534-9291

Highland Hospital Campus 1411 East 31st Street Oakland, CA 94602

Unlike at other local hospitals, sexual assault victims brought to Highland are treated as priority patients by a designated staff member who has specialized training in their care and treatment.

#### ALAMEDA COUNTY VICTIM SERVICES

Alameda County District Attorney's Office
1225 Fallon Street, Suite 900
Oakland, CA 94612
Contact: (510) 272-6222
Email: info@acgov.org

 <u>Victim Witness Services</u> 1401 Lakeside Drive, Suite 802 Oakland, CA 94612 Contact: <u>(510) 272-6180</u> Email: <u>askvw@acgov.org</u>

#### CRIME VICTIM COMPENSATION

The California Victim Compensation Board may be able to help victims who were injured or threatened with physical injury as the result of sexual assault.

> California Victim Compensation Program: 800-777-9229 www.vcgcb.ca.gov

#### What Expenses Can CalVCB Help Pay?

CalVCB may help pay for expenses related to a crime such as:

- Medical and dental treatment
- Mental health services
- Income loss
- Home or vehicle modifications
- Home security
- Relocation
- Crime scene cleanup



# RESOURCE INFORMATION FOR VICTIMS OF SEXUAL ASSAULT



#### EDEN TOWNSHIP SUBSTATION 15001 FOOTHILL BOULEVARD SAN LEANDRO, CA 94578 (510) 667-7721

DEPUTY:	
BADGE #	
REPORT #	
VINF PIN#	

AGENCY NUMBER FOR VINE: 0010

Revised 12/28/17

#### SEXUAL ASSAULT VICTIM RIGHTS

A sexual assault victim does not have to talk to law enforcement if he or she does not want to. The victim also has the right to refuse a medical or physical exam for evidence.

A victim has the right to have a sexual assault counselor and at least one other support person of their choosing present at any initial medical examination, physical examination, or investigative interview arising out of a sexual assault. A sexual assault counselor can be contacted 24 hours a day.

Any evidence taken will be sent to the crime lab for analysis. Generally, DNA evidence must be collected within 3 days of the assault before it begins to degrade. Once DNA evidence is collected, it should last up to 25 years or more in storage. The victim may contact his/her investigator to get the status of evidence processed.

Law enforcement will keep all sexual assault evidence for at least 20 years. If the victim is under the age of 18 when the alleged offense happened, the evidence will be kept until the victim's  $40^{th}$  birthday.

A victim of sexual assault has the right to appear in Superior Court of the County of Alameda to obtain a restraining order to protect oneself, their family, and their property.

The order may include, but is not limited to, the following:

- Restraining the offender from abusing family members, or directing the offender to leave the residence.
- Preventing the offender from entering your home, place of employment, or children's school.
- Giving you custody of minor children and preventing the offender from molesting or interfering with them.
- Directing the offender to pay support if the offender is legally obligated to do so.
- Directing either or both parties to participate in counseling.

### **RESTRAINING ORDER INFORMATION**

#### Q: WHAT TYPES OF RESTRAINING ORDERS ARE THERE?

A: If you are in immediate danger of being re-victimized by the offender, an Emergency Protective Order (EPO) can be put in place by the responding deputy/officer. This lasts five (5) days. Within the five (5) days, before an EPO expires, a Temporary Restraining Order (TRO) may be sought through the court that lasts up to three (3) years. If there is already a criminal matter pending involving you and the restrained party, the judge may issue a Protective Order.

#### Q: WHO CAN GET A RESTRAINING ORDER?

A: Anyone who has been the victim of violence i.e. threatened, harassed, abused or assaulted.

#### Q: WHAT CAN A RESTRAINING ORDER DO?

A: Order the restrained party to stay a specific distance away from you. Order the restrained party not to contact you. Order the restrained party to stay away from your work, residence, children's school, childcare center or babysitter.

#### Q: HOW MUCH DOES A RESTRAINING ORDER COST?

A: There is no cost to anyone who is a victim of a violent crime.

#### Q: WHO CAN SERVE A RESTRAINING ORDER?

A: Anyone over the age of eighteen (18) years old and not a party of the action.

# Q: WHAT DO I DO IF THE RESTRAINED PARTY VIOLATES THE ORDER?

A: If the EPO, restraining order, or protective order is violated, the victim should call law enforcement immediately for a report documenting the incident. Call 911 immediately if there is a threat of violence.

#### Q: WHO DO YOU CONTACT IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS?

A: You may contact the District Attorney's Office-Victim/Witness Program at (510) 272-6180 (Oakland) or (925) 803-7171 (Dublin) during business hours.

## VICTIM INFORMATION AND NOTIFICATION EVERYDAY

The Alameda County District Attorney's Office provides a computerized service to victims of violence throughout the County. The system is called VINE.

Although the offender will be taken to jail, the individual may be released through the posting of bail or other action. To provide the victim with information on the release of the offender, VINE will call all registered victim telephone numbers. There is no limit on the number of phone numbers you can register. VINE can also notify the victim via e-mail, fax, letter or TTY.

# There is no cost to use VINE. You may register for VINE by calling 1-877-411-5588 or online at www.vinelink.com

To register for VINE, you must have the following:

- A phone number that VINE can call with the information on the release of the offender.
- A Personal Identification Number (PIN)
- The offender's name, jail number (PFN), or police report number and police agency number.

It is important that the PIN you pick is a number you will remember. It is also important that you keep the PIN to yourself.

Upon release of the offender, VINE will call the registered numbers until one of two criteria are met:

- The proper PIN is entered as requested.
- Twenty-four hours have passed.

Once the registered number is called and the proper PIN is entered, VINE will give the release information to whomever is answering the phone and will not call the registered number again.

If the registered number is called and the proper PIN number is not entered, VINE will continue to call for the next twenty-four hour period. VINE will leave messages on answering machines and voicemails during this twenty-four hour period.